Locksmiths in Brampton  Locksmiths in Brampton    
Gallery - Locks
The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) rates deadbolt locks along three grades of classification. The standards are maintained by The Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association (BHMA). A deadbolt can be graded 1, 2 or 3 with 1 being the highest.
  1. Cycle Test
    • A cycle test measures the number of times a bolt can be unlocked and locked. Grade 2 and 3 deadbolts should be able to complete 1 cycle 800,000 times while a Grade 1 deadbolt should complete 1 cycle 1 million times.
  2. Deadbolt Projection
    • To secure the door, a deadbolt should be able to project into the doorjamb as well as door frame. Grade 2 and 3 deadbolt locks project 5/8 of an inch when secured. A Grade 1 deadbolt projects a full inch when secured.
  3. Impact Test
    • When secured, a deadbolt should be able to withstand two blows of various foot pounds of force. A Grade 3 deadbolt can withstand 90 foot pounds. Grade 2 should be able to withstand 120 foot pounds. A deadbolt with an ANSI Grade 1 can withstand 150 foot pounds of force.
Locksmiths in Brampton
Locksmiths in Brampton
Locksmiths in Brampton